Local Treatment Providers

Bayside Recovery, LLC
440 Solomons Island Rd.
Prince Frederick, MD, 20678
(443) 586 - 5680
https://www.baysiderecoveryllc.com

Calvert County Behavioral Health
Barstow - 280 Stafford Rd
Barstow, MD, 20610
(410) 535 - 3079
https://www.calverthealth.org/personalhealth/substanceabuse/index.htm

Calvert County Behavioral Health - Chesapeake Beach
3819 Harbor Rd
Chesapeake Beach, MD, 20732
(410) 286 - 0547
https://www.calverthealth.org/personalhealth/substanceabuse/index.htm

Calvert County Behavioral Health - Lusby
20 Appeal Lane
Lusby, MD, 20657
(410) 394 - 0681
https://www.calverthealth.org/personalhealth/substanceabuse/index.htm

Calvert County Behavioral Health - Prince Frederick
975 N Solomons Island Rd
Prince Frederick, MD, 20678
(410) 535 - 5400 ext 475
https://www.calverthealth.org/personalhealth/substanceabuse/index.htm

Avenue Treatment Center (formerly Carol Porto)
125 Fairground Rd
Prince Frederick, MD, 20678
(410) 535 - 8930
http://www.portotreatment.com/

Certified Counseling Services of Dunkirk
10684 Southern Maryland Blvd
Dunkirk, MD, 20754
(410) 610 - 2595

Project Chesapeake
69 Sherry Lane
Prince Frederick MD 20678
(443) 214 - 5097
https://www.projectchesapeake.com/find-a-location/prince-frederick/

A+ Counseling Center
10351 Southern Maryland Boulevard
Dunkirk, MD 20754
(301) 494-2167
https://www.acounseling.org

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
Service Locator: https://findtreatment.samhsa.gov/

2019-20 School Based Behavioral Health Counselors

The Calvert County Health Department in partnership with Calvert County Public Schools is proud to offer school-based behavioral health in all public schools in Calvert County. Behavioral Health counseling is available to students struggling with a mental health and/or substance use concern. A behavioral health therapist is available on-site to assist referred students with a variety of concerns, such as anxiety, depression, ADD, substance use and other mental health concerns. Services are provided during the school day, which allows easy access for care. Referrals can be self, parent, or teacher made through the school’s guidance department or by contacting the school’s behavioral health therapist directly.

Beach Elementary, Sunderland Elementary and Windy Hill Middle
Therapist: Dawn Morrissey
Contact: dawn.morrissey@maryland.gov

Patuxent Appeal Campus (Judy Center, Pre-K, K and Head Start
Therapist: Amanda Kurtz
Contact: amanda.kurtz@maryland.gov

Patuxent Appeal Campus (Grades 1-5) and Calvert Country
Therapist: Debbie Nelson
Contact: debbie.nelson@maryland.gov

Northern High and Southern Middle (temporary)
Therapist: Chelsea Tarleton
Contact: chelsea.tarleton@maryland.gov

Calvert Middle and Mill Creek Middle
Therapist: Denise Cook
Contact: denise.cook@maryland.gov

St. Leonard Elementary
Therapist: Emma-Ann Nowak
Contact: emma.nowak@maryland.gov

Barstow Elementary (Head Start) and Sunderland Elementary (Head Start)
Therapist: Jenna Thompson
Contact: jenna.thompson1@maryland.gov

Barstow Elementary and Calvert Elementary
Therapist: Kay Wood
Contact: kay.wood@maryland.gov

Patuxent High
Therapist: Kim Sanford
Contact: kim.sanford@maryland.gov

Windy Hill Elementary
Therapist: Sellina Kaylor
Contact: sellina.kaylor@maryland.gov

Dowell Elementary, Plum Point Elementary,
Plum Point Middle, and Huntingtown High

Therapist: Tia Brooks
Contact: tia.brooks@maryland.gov

Calvert High
Therapist: Tonyia Johnson
Contact: tonyiad.johnson@maryland.gov

Mutual Elementary, Huntingtown Elementary, and Northern Middle
Therapist: Tracey Hance
Contact: tracey.hance@maryland.gov

Mt. Harmony Elementary
Therapist: Kenyona Davis
Contact: kenyona.davis@maryland.gov

Resource Information

Calvert County Health Department
410-535-5400 www.calverthealth.org/personalhealth/substanceabuse

Calvert Behavioral Health Services
410-535-3079

Community Naloxone Training:   Contact
Ashley Staples-Reid at 410-535-3079 ext. 41 or Ashley.staples@maryland.gov

Calvert County Local Care Team (LCT)
The LCT is an inter-agency team that functions as a collaboration of helping hands dedicated to providing families of youth with intensive needs with the resources necessary to find success.
Contact: 410-535-1600 ext. 8803

Center for Children
https://center-for-children.org/
Prince Frederick Office - 410-535-3047
LaPlata Office - 301-609-9887
Leonardtown Office - 301-475-8860
Our Services

  • Crisis intervention

  • Individual, group, play, & family therapy

  • Assessment & evaluation of children

  • Psychological and psychiatric testing

  • Co-Parenting / Divorce Education & Training

  • New and teen family support and education

  • Prevention programs

  • Information and referral

  • Community education

  • Advocacy in the legal system

  • Case coordination with other agencies

  • Supervised visitation for non-custodial parents

  • Case consultation with educators, physicians & other professionals

Maryland Coalition of Families
http://www.mdcoalition.org/who-we-are

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) (info for teens, parents and educators, a teen blog, etc.):  www.teens.drugabuse.gov

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administrationwww.samhsa.gov

Maryland Community Services Locator (MD211): www.mdcsl.org